Stuff I learned during my summer internship

Posted on May 25, 2013

0


I learned what risottos and souffles actually look like.

Job-related, I learned about a lot of easy meals and how to prepare them. I learned about up-and-coming food and craft businesses in Metro Manila. I learned how to use Photoshop a bit more. I learned how magazine people make food look so good for the web and the magazine.

I learned where the female CR was when I was halfway through my internship. Worse, I found out by asking the Men’s Health interns.

I learned that the elevator is packed during lunch breaks so it’s best to do a round trip: go up when you’re supposed to go down.

I learned that you, as the bottom of the office food chain, should bear with your bosses. Even if you feel like screaming to them for blaming you when you really did send that e-mail and they just failed to check their e-mails at that time. Learn pakikisama with your editors.

I learned that nothing will happen unless you speak up. Whether it’s “am I allowed to go?”, or “what am I supposed to do today?”, or “I’ve been here for weeks contemplating my existence, so when will I actually do something that makes me feel like I’m part of you guys?”, you should shake things up from time to time or it’s nganga forever.

I learned that you’re not supposed to eat at the office. Oh no.

I learned that you should make at least one new friend in an office setting or else it will not be worth it at all. Being isolated with the slight seriousness of the setting will drive anyone crazy.

I learned that dressing better is a big, big thing in the working world. Especially since these are magazines we’re talking about. Adjust adjust din pag may time. State U, where I come from, don’t give a damn about boho chic outfits.

Which reminds me, being able to adjust easily in new environments is a good thing.

I learned that your editors’ rejection of your work is a learning experience.

I learned that when taking a cab to an unfamiliar place, it’s wise to Google Earth it first in order to provide the driver with directions and landmarks. It’s also wise to Google how to get back.

I learned that I would not get lost in Metro Manila just as long as the MRT is part of the direction.

I learned that I’ve been blessed that my supervisor didn’t mind that I clock in after the morning rush hour.

I learned that Boni Station, where I get off, is at the left side of the train. I also learned that the Cubao Station is forever H-E-A-V-Y.

Basically I learned how important the MRT was in my life. The Guadalupe Station suicide did not make it any better.

I learned that coffee is the employee’s (and sabaw intern’s) best friend.

I learned that no matter how unimportant you think are, people are still bound to notice you. And you will always feel like you are doing something wrong.

I learned that there are a lot of sosyal (elite) people in the magazine world.

I learned that while this internship made me feel like I could see myself in this kind of job, sometimes it kind of makes me feel otherwise. I don’t know. I still want to work for a magazine in the future, it’s just that this internship opened my mind a bit more about the magazine world – the stuff I like and the stuff I don’t like about it. What do I like about it? Of course, magazines are supposed to be the beacons of coolness. Magazines pretty much inform the masses about pop culture and the current status of society sans the heaviness that is in the newspapers. Well, the “soft journalism” magazines at least. I have been making my own magazines at nine or ten and I’ve collected tons of those for as long as I can remember. I was made to work for a magazine. Heck, this was the reason why I chose Journalism as a high schooler.

I love putting together bits and pieces of awesome. Overlooking my intern desk are a couple of huge bulletin boards that editors use to strategically place mini magazine pages and advertisements. I always remember my childhood when I look at them.

What I don’t like about it? Some magazines are just so sensational and shallow. At ang dami talagang maarte.

That’s what you get for interning at the biggest magazine publisher in the country. You get to observe all the big magazines doing their thing. All the good and bad.

One of the most important realizations I had this summer is this: the trick to getting ahead in the magazine world is being interested in what the magazine is about. Food magazine? Okay, sure. I can do that. Not exactly at the top of my list but I can work with that. A journalist must be able to work with things beyond his/her cup of tea, right?

Trust me, the internship was worth it. I still want to write for a music/culture magazine but I did gain an interest in the Philippine food industry. I might consider food journalism.

And if that doesn’t work out I’ll just assist the coffee lady who pushes the coffee cart at the Summit Media offices.

