Life isn’t supposed to be sad all the time

Posted on September 9, 2013

0


514216-lost1_super

I’m not saying you should be happy all the time, either.

After all the hullabaloo I’ve been going through these past few years, I guess it was time for me to grow up.

Emotional maturity. It doesn’t have to revolve around you. I mean sure, it may seem that your life is a black hole but that’s just part of the picture. Your depression is one sad movie still magnified 10000 times by you.

It doesn’t have to be that way. You don’t have to keep it all to yourself. I used to think that people are wrong for telling me to fight and fight and fight it off when I obviously lost all hope in finding genuine happiness. The whole world is picking on me and I don’t feel like fighting back anymore. They should change, not me.

Now I realize that I don’t have to be the victim all the time. That’s the problem with me – I’m unwilling to fight because I believe that I’m the victim in all this.

It’s time to break the victim mentality. The thing with depression is that it eats you up – EVERY SINGLE THING THAT MAKES YOU ALIVE. And not just in the literal sense. You’ll be left with nothing but your existence. You’re the walking dead – life killed you. But you’re still alive, right? That is enough reason to fight back. You still have that thing the world wasn’t able to take away from you – your life.

Seriously, pseudo-depressed loner freak, stop wallowing in depression and do that thing you know will make you happy. Who cares if it’s embarrassing or if it’s a total risk, it makes you happy. People will forget and move on, anyway. People care a lot less than you think. And besides, it’s the end result that matters. It’s YOU who matters. As the wise sages of today say, #YOLO.

I’m not saying you should push all the sad stuff and fool yourself into thinking you are happy all the time. That’s just fucked up. It’s okay to cry, it’s okay to feel depressed from time to time. I believe that crying is not a sign of weakness. I cry when I’m frustrated and confused, but I know I’m not weak. Fighters cry and that’s nothing to be embarrassed about. I’m just saying that it’s not good to be a permanent resident of Sadsville just because of this One Time Things didn’t Turn Out The Way You Absolutely Wanted It To Be. Find alternatives! Make do with the situation. Remember, the world is a huge place. There are a lot of things that will make you happy, maybe you just haven’t found it yet. Entertain yourself, watch cartoons. Cartoons DEFINITELY make things a whole lot better for me.

I used to contemplate death from time to time. Now, whenever I do that, I just think of all the places in the world that I haven’t been to yet. Then I get better and start realizing that I have to stay alive to see all these places and have adventures in them like heroes do. Decaying and getting eaten by maggots six feet under the ground is BO-RING.

Be the hero. Heroes don’t let depression get the best of them. Heroes get shit done. Heroes cry, sure, but heroes fight back. Be that hero who gets movies named after them. It’s time to be the title character.

Help yourself. That’s the least you could do for God, for your family, and for your friends.

Just remember: the world is too beautiful for you to see it as bleak and ugly and depressing. Get up and see for yourself.

Oh and BTW here’s Coldplay at Glastonbury to prove my point.

