Graduation/going away/screw-it-all-I’m-outta-here playlist

Posted on April 26, 2014

0


IMG_4054

Because it’s graduation tomorrow and I feel like running away right after the ceremony.

Here it is, a compilation of the songs I’ve pretty much overplayed to death these past few months.

I generally want it to be a “going-away” playlist but I need to shorten it since I “got carried away, carried away from you” (char haha). I filtered the songs down even more (yes this was way longer originally) to the more pumped-up, feels-inducing songs to perfectly capture the graduation mood. Some of the songs I’ve already posted before but I’m #sorrynotsorry.

Happy graduation, and happy summer 🙂

 

1. “Time to pretend”  – MGMT

Yeah, it’s overwhelming, but what else can we do?
Get jobs in offices, and wake up for the morning commute?

But there’s really nothing, nothing we can do
Love must be forgotten, life can always start up anew.

2. “Kill your heroes” – AWOLNATION

Well he said
“one thing, before I graduate…
never let your fear decide your fate.”

3. “Ceremony” – New Order/Joy Division

Avenues all lined with trees,
Picture me and then you start watching,
Watching forever, forever,
Watching love grow, forever,
Letting me know, forever.

4. “Bittersweet symphony” – The Verve (ridiculously overplayed I know)

‘Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life
Try to make ends meet, you’re a slave to money then you die
I’ll take you down the only road I’ve ever been down
You know the one that takes you to the places
Where all the veins meet, yeah

5. “Punching in a dream” – The Naked And Famous

Wait

I don’t ever wanna be here
Like punching in a dream breathing life into my nightmare

6. “Hearts like ours” – The Naked and Famous

Lead me to the edge of night
‘Till the dawn
The end of time
‘Till the fire blazing light
Shines again within our eyes

7. “The Universal” – Blur

Well it really really really could happen
Yes it really really really could happen
When the days they seem to fall through you
Well just let them go

8. “Itchin’ on a photograph” – Grouplove

I’m itchin’ on a photograph 
Yeah I’m scratching on a thermostat
I’m giving up on looking back 
I’m letting go of what I had.

9. “When the day met the night” – Panic! At The Disco

When the moon found the sun
He looked like he was barely hanging on
But her eyes saved his life
In the middle of summer

In the middle of summer
All was golden in the sky
All was golden when the day met the night

10. “No end in sight” – Outerhope

Can’t find the lyrics huhu

11. “Starman” – David Bowie

There’s a starman waiting in the sky
He’d like to come and meet us
But he thinks he’d blow our minds

There’s a starman waiting in the sky
He’s told us not to blow it
‘Cause he knows it’s all worthwhile

He told me “Let the children lose it
Let the children use it
Let all the children boogie

12. “Heroes” – David Bowie (HE IS THE MAN YO)

I
I will be king
And you
You will be queen
Though nothing will
Drive them away
We can beat them
Just for one day
We can be Heroes
Just for one day

Though nothing
Will keep us together
We could steal time
Just for one day
We can be Heroes
For ever and ever
What d’you say

13. “Wake up” – The Arcade Fire

Now that I’m older
My heart’s colder
And I can see that it’s a lie

Children wake up
Hold your mistakes up
Before they turn the summer into dust

Now children don’t grow up
Our bodies get bigger
But our hearts get torn up

14. “Neighborhood #1 (Tunnels)” – The Arcade Fire

But sometimes we remember our bedrooms
And our parent’s bedrooms and the bedrooms of our friends
Then we think of our parents
Well, what ever happened to them?

Purify colors purify my mind
Purify color, purify my mind
Spread the ashes of the colors
In this heart of mine

15. “Rebellion (Lies)” – The Arcade Fire

People say that your dreams are the only things that save you
Come on baby in our dreams, we can live our misbehavior

16. “Tonight I have to leave it” – Shout Out Louds

So I heard it’s no good to run
But it feels so much better now that it’s done
And tonight I have to leave it
Yes, tonight I have to leave it

17.  “Say you don’t want it” – One Night Only

Don’t you ask me if its love my dear
Love don’t really mean a thing round here
The fake scenes, the plastic-made dreams
Say you don’t want it, say you don’t want it

18. “Shot at the night” – The Killers

Once in a lifetime, we’re breaking all the rules
To find that our home, has long been outgrown
Throw me a life line, ’cause honey I got nothing to lose
Once in a lifetime 

19. “Run Baby Run” – Garbage

Love can be so strange
Don’t it amaze you?
Every time you give yourself away
It comes back to haunt you

Love’s an elusive charm and it can be painful
To understand this crazy world
But you’re not gonna crack
No, you’re never gonna crack

Find out who you are before you regret it
Because life is so short, there’s no time to waste it

20. “Tonight, Tonight” – The Smashing Pumpkins

We’ll find a way to offer up the night
(Tonight)
The indescribable moments of your life
(Tonight)

The impossible is possible tonight
(Tonight)
Believe in me as I believe in you

21. “Today” – The Smashing Pumpkins (lol)

Today is the greatest
Day I’ve ever known
Can’t live for tomorrow
Tomorrow’s much too long

I’ll burn my eyes out
Before I get out

I wanted more
Than life could ever grant me
Bored by the chore
Of saving face

22. “Walking disasters” – The Wombats

And flowers might wilt when we walk past
And self-help might help when it makes us laugh
Only finding questions in answers
You and I are just walking disasters

23. “Anti-D” – The Wombats

Our vivid dreams are just like big production movies
They get entangled well within our daily routines
So please re-think or use my trademark strategy

24. “Umaaraw, umuulan” – Rivermaya

Wag kang maawa sa iyong sarili
Isipin na wala ka nang silbi
‘Sang dambuhalang kalokohan

Bukas sisikat ding muli ang araw
Ngunit para lang sa may tiyagang
Maghintay

Kaya’t kaibigan,
Wag kang magpapatalo
Kaibigan,
Itaas ang noo

25. “Egis Erp” – Lourd De Veyra

Ikaw man ay nalatay

Tuloy ka lang sa buhay

Baligtarin ang kapalaran

Sige, pre kaya mo yan!

26. “You wear me out” – Cambio (UP represent!)

Enough of this vengeful silence
I’m going tired of love & violence
Just got wired
You were all I ever desired

27. “Sala” – Pupil

Sariwain ang kaalaman
Kabutihan at paninindigan
Lahat ay may katapusan
Walang makakapigil sa’tin
Malayang ihahayag ang damdamin

28. “May 1” – Archipelago

Sa bawat oras mo’y may simula
Sa bawat oras mo’y magwawakas
Sa bawat oras ko’y sumusulyap
Sa bawat oras mong kumakalas

Pagkat sa bawat oras mo
Sa bawat oras mo, may himala

29. “Antukin” – Rico Blanco

Sasalubungin natin ang kinabukasan
Ng walang takot at walang pangamba
Tadhana’y merong trip na makapangyarihan
Kung ayaw may dahilan
Kung gusto palaging merong paraan

30. “Alay” – Kamikazee (UP represent! Part 2)

Pinagpala ang makilala ka
Ikaw ang dahilan ng aking paghinga
Lahat ng ito’y wala kundi dahil sa yo
Di masusukat ang iyong puso

31. “Temptation” – New Order

And I’ve never seen anyone quite like you before
No, I’ve never met anyone quite like you before
Bolts from above hurt the people down below
People in this world, we have no place to go
Oh, it’s the last time

32. “Regret” – New Order

Just wait till tomorrow
I guess that’s what they all say
Just before they fall apart

I was upset you see
Almost all the time
You used to be a stranger
Now you are mine

33. “Atmosphere” – Joy Division

Walk in silence,
Don’t turn away, in silence.
Your confusion,
My illusion,
Worn like a mask of self-hate,
Confronts and then dies.
Don’t walk away.

34. “Monday morning” – Death Cab for Cutie

I cried out love keep your arms around me
I am a bird that’s in need of grounding
I’m built to fly away, I never learned how to stay

35. “Marching bands of Manhattan” – Death Cab for Cutie

I wish we could open our eyes
To see in all directions at the same time
Oh, what a beautiful view
If you were never aware of what was around you

And it is true what you say
That I live like a hermit in my own head
But when the sun shines again
I’ll pull the curtains and blinds to let the light in

36. “Run with me” – Keane

“Baby”, you said, “We’re not ever gonna go home”
And “Baby, will you run with me wherever I go?”
Well maybe those words never really mattered at all
But lately those words run with me wherever I go

 37. “New York” – Paloma Faith

Her name was New York, New York, and she took his heart away oh my,

Her name was New York, New York, she had poisoned his sweet mind

38. “Empire State of mind” – Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys

In New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made, oh
There’s nothing you can’t do, now you’re in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you, let’s hear it for New York
New York, New York

39. “All of the lights” – Kanye West, etc.

Turn up the lights in here baby
Extra bright, I want y’all to see this
Turn up the lights in here baby
You know what I need
Want you to see everything
Want you to see all of the lights

40. “Penny Lane” – The Beatles

Penny Lane is in my ears and in my eyes
There beneath the blue suburban skies
I sit and meanwhile back

41. “Dancing with myself” – Billy Idol

Oh dancing with myself
Oh dancing with myself
Well there’s nothing to lose and there’s nothing to prove
I’ll be dancing with myself, oh

42. “My brain is hanging upside down” – The Ramones

My brain is hanging upside down
I need something to slow me down
My brain is hanging upside down
Well, I need something to slow me down

43. “Charlie Brown” – Coldplay

All the boys, all the girls, all that matters in the world
All the boys, all the girls, all the madness that occurs
All the highs all the lows, as the room a-spinning goes
We’ll run riot, we’ll be glowing in the dark

44. “Strawberry Swing” – Coldplay 

The sky could be blue, could be gray
Without you I just slide away
The sky could be blue, I don’t mind
Without you it’s a waste of time

45. “Lovers in Japan” – Coldplay

Tonight maybe we’re gonna run
Dreaming of the Osaka sun
Oh, oh
Dreaming of when the morning comes

46. “I still remember” – Bloc Party

And I can see our days are becoming night
I could feel your heartbeat across the grass
We should have run, I would go with you anywhere
I should have kissed you by the water

47. “Building Blocks” – Sims 2 University OST (Mark Mothersbaugh)

48. “April Skies” – The Jesus and Mary Chain

Under the April skies

Under the April sun

Sun grows cold

Sky gets black

And you broke me up

And now you won’t come back

49. “Houdini” – Foster the People

Got shackles on, my words are tied
Fear can make you compromise
Fasten up it’s time to hide
Sometimes I want to disappear

50. “Don’t look back in anger” – Oasis

I’m gonna start a revolution from my bed
‘Cos you said the brains I had went to my head
Step outside ‘cos summertime’s in bloom
Stand up beside the fireplace
Take that look from off your face
‘Cos you ain’t ever gonna burn my heart out

51. “Maps” – The Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Made off, don’t stray
Well, my kinds your kind
I’ll stay the same
Pack up, don’t stray
Oh say, say, say

52. “City of blinding lights” – U2

And I miss you when you’re not around
I’m getting ready to leave the ground

Oh, you look so beautiful tonight
In the city of blinding lights

53. “After hours” – We Are Scientists

This night is winding down but time means nothing
As always at this hour time means nothing
One final, final round ’cause time means nothing
Say that you’ll stay, say that you’ll stay

54. “King and Lionheart” – Of Monsters and Men

And as the world comes to an end
I’ll be here to hold your hand
‘Cause you’re my king and I’m your lionheart.
A lionheart. 

55. “Dirty paws” – Of Monsters and Men

Her dirty paws and furry coat,
She ran down the forest slopes.
The forest of talking trees;
They used to sing about the birds and the bees.

56. “Yellow light” – Of Monsters and Men

I’m looking for a place to start
But everything feels so different now.
Just grab a hold of my hand,
I will lead you through this wonderland.
Water up to my knees
But sharks are swimming in the sea.
Just follow my yellow light
And ignore all those big warning signs.

57. “Your ex-lover is dead” – Stars

There’s one thing I want to say, so I’ll be brave
You were what I wanted, I gave what I gave
I’m not sorry I met you, I’m not sorry it’s over
I’m not sorry there’s nothing to save

58. “Hold on when you get love and let go when you give it” – Stars

Take the weakest thing in you
And then beat the bastards with it
And always hold on when you get love,
So you can let go when you give it.

59. “Hannah Hunt” – Vampire Weekend

Our days were long and our nights no longer
Count the seconds, watching hours
Though we live on the US dollar
You and me, we got our own sense of time.