Detox and chill

Posted on June 11, 2016

0


Last week, I went into a social media detox. Sort of.

I won’t go into detail as to why I went on a sort-of hiatus because it’s kind of embarrassing and I guess deep down I didn’t really have a reason at all. I just felt like I needed it. I go online and everything I see is somehow bringing me down for some reason. I get annoyed at some people for existing. It may have something to do with hormones as I will explain later, but I digress.

Sometimes social media can get so freaking toxic that you just want to shut out the entire (virtual) world and go sit in front of the ocean or something. My brain needed a break from thinking…or overthinking, as it turns out. See, chronically anxious people like me have this constant need to shut everyone out in stressful situations. And if can’t do that offline then maybe I can virtually.

As much as I relied heavily on social media for self-expression and cheap therapy, I had to go on a break. But now I feel like I’m ready to go back. I need to go back. Let’s face it, posting can be a great writing exercise as well as therapy substitute. And I have to admit, I feel like my writing is getting sloppier because of hiatus. That doesn’t mean I’ll revert to being an annoying shitposter, though. At least, not so much. ┬áIf there’s anything this detox taught me, it’s that you don’t have to think so much about things that worry and confuse you to death. Sometimes, you just need some time to stop thinking at all.

I guess having this sort-of detox was one of the few right decisions I have made in my life.

Things I learned from social media detoxing:

  1. There are too many annoying people online. Well actually, we all knew this for a long time now.
  2. You may communicate with someone solely on a virtual platform but that doesn’t make your friendship any less valid.
  3. Wow, the air outside is like, really fresh.
  4. Overthinking posts/updates is an anxious person’s personal hell.
  5. God, y’all don’t have to post everything.
  6. However, I don’t judge people when they are posting about something they are passionate about because I know what it is like to be passionate about something and feeling the strong urge to talk about it.
  7. And for that reason alone, I proudly admit that I am not a cool person at all. Because apparently you are cool if you have the absence of feeling. People can be dicks.
  8. GIRLS CAN BE OVERTHINKING EMOTIONAL MONSTERS ON THEIR PERIOD. I put this on all caps because this is relevant information. I sincerely apologize for what I say and do when I’m on my period. Or before it, since I was unusually emotional pre-social media detox. I also apologize on behalf of females everywhere for this behavior. You have been warned. I feel sorry for anyone who will date me, tbh.
  9. Sometimes we just have to give our parents a hug for constantly putting up with our crap, even if we are snide bitches who can be ungrateful from time to time.
  10. Pets are great anti-depressants.
  11. So is running. And travelling!
  12. When you’re down, you lose the will to do things that interest you. But you have to force yourself to do so to keep your sanity. I am now in the process of reading five books.
  13. True friends are always there for you if you need a place to crash. And vent.
  14. For an anxious person, distraction is an art. And I’m learning how to do it well.
  15. Nights out can cure ennui…for a while.
  16. I am in the process of learning how human attraction and relationships work. So yay, maturity!
  17. I am no longer afraid to admit that I am a work in progress.
  18. You may feel like you constantly don’t belong in any scene whatsoever, but that doesn’t mean there is nothing there you can enjoy.
  19. Okay, I can be too judgmental on rich and popular people who like the things I find cool.
  20. Or on people in general.
  21. But I still denounce elitism in all forms.
  22. It’s okay to be unapologetic for doing your own thing.
  23. I mean, you may not be the prettiest, or the coolest, or the most successful girl now (or ever), but constantly thinking about what others will think about you will only keep you from moving forward. So fuck it.
  24. Who cares if nothing is going right and everything’s a mess (hey Avril)? Don’t force yourself to prove everyone wrong in the soonest possible time.
  25. Because sometimes, a break can solve everything. It’s just that not everyone can see that.
